Help! Just Booted My New PC and Got a Confusing Error Message
Asked by
TechWizKid42
Hey everyone! I just built my first PC last night with a new motherboard from Microcenter and was super excited to boot it up for the first time today. However, I'm hitting a bump in the road since I'm seeing an error message similar to one I found online (link to imgur provided). Just to clarify, this is the first boot and there's no operating system installed yet. When I try to proceed, I don't have a Bitlocker key, which means I can't select 'Y' to move forward. If I choose 'N', it takes me to the BIOS but selecting to save and exit just brings me right back to the same error message. I called ASUS support, but their response was pretty unhelpful, and I want to troubleshoot this myself if possible. Has anyone run into this before? I really don't want to take my build apart again if I don't have to. I appreciate any help!
Answers
No worries about that message. Itโs basically just saying, 'I see new hardware, and I need to adjust some security settings.' As long as youโre okay with it, go ahead and confirm with 'Y'.
Reply to this answer
It sounds like your motherboard might have been paired with a different CPU before. Pressing 'Y' could reset things, but usually 'N' is the safer option if there's data involved. It's worth checking the motherboard manual for detailed instructions on resetting the TPM chip. Just a heads upโit might be a returned motherboard if itโs giving you this issue right out of the box!
Reply to this answer
Go ahead and hit 'Y', youโre good to go! Itโs just letting you know that some security settings (like TPM) will change. Itโs all standard procedure with new parts!
Reply to this answer
You can just hit 'Y' to proceed, itโll be fine! That message is just a standard warning about encryption, nothing to worry about.
BuildGuru99: You don't need the Bitlocker key, itโs just a precaution in case you had it set up.
Reply to this answer
Basically, Bitlocker is this encryption that locks your data unless you have the key. If you don't intend to access any previous data, resetting could mean a fresh installation of Windows, which usually solves these issues anyway. Just remember, if you hit 'Y' and erase the keys, you'd be wiping that disk clean.
Reply to this answer
Add your answer
Answers are reviewed before publication.
TechWizKid42: Yeah, that crossed my mind too. Would be a bummer if it was labeled incorrectly.