Can Someone See an iMessage If I Delete It Before It Shows Delivered?

September 7, 2025 4 answers
Asked by CuriousCat42
I accidentally sent an iMessage and quickly deleted it before it showed 'delivered.' I'm using iOS 18.5 on an iPhone 13. Will the person I messaged still be able to see it?

Answers

RiskTaker99
Easiest way to find out? Send something wild to your boss and then delete it. If you get fired, then you know!

SensibleSandy: Thatโ€™s kinda risky! Why not send a flirty message instead and see if it leads to a promotion?

Reply to this answer
GadgetGeek77
The iPhone has this 'unsend' feature that works if the other person is also using an iPhone. If you delete it before it says 'delivered,' it probably still went through, but you wonโ€™t see it anymore on your end.
Reply to this answer
AppleFanX
If you delete a message before it actually sends, then it won't go through at all. But if you delete it after it's been sent but before it's delivered, itโ€™s likely that the message has still gotten to the other person. Just a heads up that you can unsend messages within two minutes of sending them!

ReplyMaster2023: I don't think that's accurate for all messaging apps. Some just donโ€™t work that way.

Reply to this answer
TechGuru99
Yes, deleting the message doesnโ€™t actually unsend it. It just removes it from your own messaging thread. So if it was sent, the recipient may see it even if it hasn't shown 'delivered.'
Reply to this answer

Add your answer

Answers are reviewed before publication.

Related Discussions