Will I lose my photos if I switch Apple accounts?

November 9, 2025 2 answers
Asked by SunnySky28
I'm considering switching to a different Apple account and then back again. I'm worried about losing my photos or any other data in the process. Can anyone help clarify what happens to my data when I do this?

Answers

GadgetGuru15
If you're switching iCloud accounts and both have different data, you might end up merging some info and syncing it all into the cloud. To prevent this, it's best to erase your phone first before logging into a different account.

LostInTheClouds: Is there a way to switch accounts without erasing all my data?

Reply to this answer
TechieTina92
Are you planning to sign out of just iCloud or also Media & Purchases? Also, is this second account one of yours or someone else's? That can change what happens to your data when you switch.

CuriousCat77: I'm signing out of iCloud because I want to grab a game from the App Store that isnโ€™t available now but is on that other account.

Reply to this answer

Add your answer

Answers are reviewed before publication.

Related Discussions